8 more regional driver license offices open


FRANKFORT, Ky. (KT) – Eight more counties will see driver's license issuance move from circuit clerk offices to regional facilities in May as part of an ongoing transition, according to the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.

Making the transition will be Caldwell, Casey, Green, Hardin, Menifee, Metcalfe, McCreary and Webster counties. The circuit court clerks in those counties will cease nearly all in-person driver licensing services on May 24.

The only exception will be until June 30, 2021. The clerk's offices can continue processing remotely submitted applications for renewal or replacement of standard-issue credentials, provided the card expires by that date, the applicant has not had a change of address or change of name and does not require testing performed by the Kentucky State Police. 

Remote renewal was a temporary measure ordered by Transportation Secretary Jim Gary to safeguard public health by limiting person-to-person contact during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Residents of the eight counties may renew or apply for a REAL ID or new standard card version of driver licenses, permits, commercial driver licenses and ID cards at any Transportation Cabinet driver licensing regional office.  Applicants are encouraged to make an appointment online, which can be done here. Walk-in customers are also welcome.

“Over the years our circuit court clerks have done great work to get Kentuckians properly licensed,” said Gov. Andy Beshear. “But the times demand a modernized system that offers convenience and choices to the customer, plus greater security for personal information and the credentials themselves. Our Transportation Cabinet driver licensing regional offices are uniquely equipped for that.”

Those offices are currently located in Paducah, Madisonville, Bowling Green, Owensboro, Louisville, Elizabethtown, Frankfort, Lexington, Burlington, Richmond, Columbia, Somerset, Jackson, Morehead, Catlettsburg and Prestonsburg, with more on the way. All offices are temporarily operating at reduced capacity due to COVID-19. A smaller, temporary field office at Bowman Field in Louisville is operating by appointment only.

This will bring the number of counties transitioning to the regional offices to 20, with all 120 expected to be moved by June 30, 2022, under legislation passed by the Kentucky General Assembly.

Earlier this week, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security announced the deadline to obtain a REAL ID in order to board a commercial flight, enter military bases and visit some federal facilities was extended from October 1, 2021, to May 3, 2023, due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions