McKnight, Scherr named Kentucky's Mr. and Miss Basketball


LEXINGTON, Ky, (KT) — Dayvion McKnight was named Kentucky Mr. Basketball and Maddie Scherr was tabbed Miss Basketball Sunday.


McKnight, a 6-foot-2 guard and Western Kentucky University signee, averaged 20 points and 8.1 rebounds per game as a senior, leading Collins High School to a 27-7 record and an 8th Region title. He ended his prep career as the school’s all-time leader in points (1,897), rebounds (1.040), assists (600) and steals (329).


The announcement was made Sunday by the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation on its Facebook page.


“It means a lot,” McKnight said. “Coming from a small town, we don’t really have players do what I’ve been doing.”


Scherr led Ryle to a state championship as a junior and helped guide the Raiders to a 23-11 record and a 9th Region title. Scherr, who will play her collegiate basketball at Oregon, averaged 15.8 points, 7.6 rebounds and 3.1 steals per contest last season.


“It’s a huge honor,” she said. “Since I was in fifth grade, I knew about Miss Basketball. It’s finally here and it feels surreal.”



2019: Dontae Allen, Pendleton County

2018: Trevon Faulkner, Mercer County

2017: Taveion Hollingsworth, Paul Laurence Dunbar

2016: Carson Williams, Owen County

2015: Camron Justice, Knott County Central

2014: Quentin Snider, Ballard

2013: Dominique Hawkins, Madison Central

2012: Nathan Dieudonne, Trinity

2011: Anthony Hickey, Christian County

2010: Elisha Justice, Shelby Valley

2009: Jon Hood, Madisonville

2008: Darius Miller, Mason County

2007: Steffphon Pettigrew, Elizabethtown

2006: Walt Allen, South Laurel

2005: Domonic Tilford, Jeffersontown

2004: Chris Lofton, Mason County

2003: Ross Neltner, Highlands

2002: Brandon Stockton, Glasgow

2001: Josh Carrier, Bowling Green

2000: Scott Hundley, Scott County

1999: Rick Jones, Scott County

1998: J.R. VanHoose, Paintsville

1997: Brandon Davenport, Owensboro

1996: Daymeon Fishback, Greenwood

1995: Charles Thomas, Harlan

1994: Elton Scott, Marion County

1993: Jason Osborne, Male

1992: Tick Rogers, Hart County

1991: Jermaine Brown, Fairdale

1990: Dwayne Morton, Central

1989: Allan Houston, Ballard

1988: Richie Farmer, Clay County

1987: John Pelphrey, Paintsville

1986: Rex Chapman, Apollo

1985: Tony Kimbro, Seneca

1984: Steve Miller, Henry Clay

1983: Winston Bennett, Male

1982: Todd May, Virgie

1981: Phil Cox, Cawood

1980: Ervin Stepp, Phelps

1979: Dirk Minniefield, Lafayette

1978: Doug Schloemer, Holmes

1977: Jeff Lamp, Ballard

1976: Darrell Griffith, Male

1975: Dom Fucci, Tates Creek

1974: Jack Givens, Bryan Station

1973: Wesley Cox, Male

1972: Jerry Thruston, Owensboro

1971: Jimmy Dan Conner, Anderson County

1970: Robert Brooks, Madison

1969: Ron King, Central

1968: Terry Davis, Shelby County

1967: Jim McDaniels, Allen County

1966: Mike Casey, Shelby County

1965: Butch Beard, Breckinridge County

1964: Wes Unseld, Seneca

1963: Mike Redd, Seneca

1962: Mike Silliman, St. Xavier

1961: Randy Embry, Owensboro

1960: Jeff Mullins, Lafayette

1959: Pat Doyle, North Marshall

1958: Harry Todd, Earlington

1958: Ralph Richardson, Russell County

1957: Billy Ray Lickert, Lafayette

1956: Kelly Coleman, Wayland

1955: Kenny Kuhn, Male

1954: Vernon Hatton, Lafayette


2019: Savannah Wheeler, Boyd County.

2018: Seygan Robins, Mercer County.

2017: Lindsey Duvall, Bullitt East

2016: Erin Boley, Elizabethtown

2015: Maci Morris, Bell County.

2014: Ivy Brown, LaRue County.

2013: Makayla Epps, Marion County.

2012: Sydney Moss, Boone County.

2011: Sara Hammond, Rockcastle County.

2010: Sarah Beth Barnette, LCA

2009: A’dia Mathies, Iroquois

2008: Tia Gibbs, Butler

2007: Rebecca Gray, Scott County.

2006: Arnika Brown, Christian County.

2005: Carly Ormerod, Sacred Heart

2004: Crystal Kelly, Sacred Heart

2003: Megen Gearhart, West Carter

2002: Erica Hallman, Holmes

2001: Katie Schwegmann, Bishop Brossart

2000: Jenni Benningfield, Assumption

1999: Jody Sizemore, Leslie County.

1998: Beth Vice, Montgomery County.

1997: Rachel Byars, Union County.

1996: Jaime Walz, Highlands

1995: Ukari Figgs, Scott County.

1994: Laurie Townsend, Apollo

1993: Brandi Ashby, Webster County.

1992: Becky McKinley, Bullitt East

1991: Ida Bowen, Sheldon Clark

1990: Kim Mays, Knox Central

1989: Lisa Harrison, Southern

1988: Kim Pehlke, Doss

1987: Mary Taylor, Marshall County.

1986: Kris Miller Owensboro Catholic

1985: Brigette Combs, Whitesburg

1984: Carol Parker, Marshall County.

1983: Clemette Haskins, Warren Central

1982: Connie Goins, Western Hills

1981: Lillie Mason, Olmstead

1980: Lisa Collins, Laurel County.

1979: Beth Wilkerson, Paris

1978: Irene Moore, Breathitt County.

1977: Geri Grigsby, McDowell

1976: Donna Murphy, Newport


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions